Testing and Accountability

Testing and Performance

Testing is an important time to take the academic temperature of students and the school. We take measurements constantly in our classrooms to help our students succeed, and master their schoolwork. The following is a list of the many different testing programs. Follow the links at the bottom to find your child's grade and testing results on standardized tests.

Nationally Mandated Testing

National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), grade 8.

State Mandated Testing

Test Smart Kids

TestSmart: Check out this great resource for students, parents and educators

See our School Report Card (SARC)

California's new student assessment system is now known as California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP). The CAASPP System replaces the Standardized Testing and Reporting (STAR) Program. The primary purpose of CAASPP is to assist teachers, administrators, and pupils and their parents by promoting high-quality teaching and learning through the use of a variety of assessment approaches and item types.

For the 2015-16 school year, CAASPP is comprised of the following:

  • Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments for English language arts (ELA) and mathematics in grades three through eight, and grade eleven. The Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments which are delivered by computer consist of two sections: a computer-adaptive test and a performance task (PT) based on the Common Core State Standards for English language arts and mathematics. The computer-adaptive section includes a range of item types such as selected response, constructed response, table, fill-in, graphing, etc. The PT are extended activities that measure a student's ability to integrate knowledge and skills across multiple standards-a key component of college and career readiness. For students in grade eleven, the Early Assessment Program (EAP) will use the Smarter Balanced summative assessments.
  • Grade-level science assessments, including the California Standards Tests (CSTs), California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA), and the California Modified Assessment (CMA), in grades five, eight, and ten. The CSTs, CMA, and CAPA are all paper-pencil tests based on the California content standards for science adopted by the State Board of California in October 1998. (Science assessments based on the Next Generation Science Standards, adopted in September 2013, are not yet available).
  • The California Alternate Assessment (CAA) for English-language arts and mathematics in grades three through eight, and grade eleven. The content of the CAA is based on alternate achievement standards derived from the Common Core State Standards for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. The CAA will be delivered on the computer for this operational administration.

For more information regarding CAASPP, visit http://www.cde.ca.gov/ta/tg/ca/.

District Mandated Testing

Includes the Stanford Diagnostic Reading Test (SDRT) and the Analytic Reading Inventory (ARI) for grades 4 & 5 and the Developmental Reading Assessment (DRA) for grades K-3. Fifth graders are also given a mathematics exit exam used for placement at the middle-school level.

Special Education Testing

Parents may request that a district psychologist and resource specialist evaluate their children for learning disabilities. Requests are to be made to the principal. An Instructional Study Team (IST) will meet with the parent or guardian to determine the appropriateness of the request.

School Performance

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.